

## Salisbury University – Staff Senate Thursday, July 11, 2019 Founders Room, Guerrieri Student Union

**Members In attendance**: Stefanie Hurst, Teri Herberger, Tabitha Pilchard, Vanessa Collins, Donna Carey, Matt Hill, Safaa Said, Kim Meyer, Lisa Gray

Chair, Stefanie Hurst, opened the meeting at 10:00 am

The June meeting is the Employee Appreciation Luncheon – No minutes taken

- I. Reports
  - a. Dr. Wight
    - i. Dr. Wight thanked Staff Senate for a great Employee Appreciation Luncheon
    - ii. Looking forward to rolling out the Volunteer Day of Service and referred to the Governor's Day of Service.
      - 1. Governor Hogan is allowing 4 hours
      - 2. Staff Senate would like to request 8 hours; can be in two 4-hr increments
  - b. CUSS Updates
    - i. BOR meeting was held June 21<sup>st</sup> at UMCES. AGB Consulting conducted a review of Board practices. One recommendation that has already been implemented was to move more items off consent agenda in closed session into open session. Review of several policies including freedom of expression and sexual misconduct.
    - ii. Submitted BOR Award nominees; all ten (10) were approved.

## II. Old Business:

- a. Meal Plan:
  - i. Stefanie dispersed draft memo for review. Announcement to all employees is forthcoming.
- b. Day of Service:
  - i. Draft recommendation was dispersed for review. Announcement to all employees is forthcoming.
  - ii. Challenge All Staff to get involved
- c. Equity:
  - i. Revisit Pay Equity Adjustments Send request for further review
- d. Snack and Chat Kim is just about finished working on a comprehensive Snack & Chat schedule for the upcoming academic year.

## III. New Business:

- a. Staff Senate Welcome new members!
- b. Stefanie Hurst announced she will be stepping down from Staff Senate as well as resigning from Salisbury University at the end of July. All members wished her well.
- c. Review and determine which staff that were included in the election but did not initially win seat and ask if they're still interested.
- d. Executive Officer nominations and election results
  - i. Chair Tabitha Pilchard
  - ii. 2<sup>nd</sup> Chair Kim Meyer
  - iii. 3<sup>rd</sup> Chair Vanessa Collins
  - iv. Secretary Sara Heim